Member Directory

Alan Olson

Olson Law Office, P.C.
a256='69c03No such function oxygen_'title'
Alan Olson
Olson Law Office, P.C.
Des Moines,


Drake Law School, Des Moines, IA - Juris Doctor, 1992

Drake University, Des Moines, IA

      B.A. in Sociology, Cum Laude, 1989

      President, Honors Program, 1987-89

Law Clerk, Hon. Dick R. Schlegel, Iowa Court of Appeals, 1992-94



Managing Partner/Owner, Olson Law Office, P.C., Des Moines, IA



AV (Martindale-Hubbell) - 2003



U.S. Supreme Court, 2000

Supreme Court of Iowa, 1993

U. S. Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit, 1995

U. S. District Court for the Southern District of Iowa, 1994



Married to Carla K. Olson, LMSW, SAP, CAS

Children: Derek Alan and Logan Eric


American Bar Association

House of Delegates Rules and Calendar Committee, 2012-present

Chair, House of Delegates Resolution Impact Committee, 2010-12

House of Delegates Credentials and Admissions Committee, 2008-10

Chair, House of Delegates Technology & Communication Committee, 2004-2008

Delegate to House of Delegates, Young Lawyers Division, 2003-06

American Bar Foundation, Iowa State Chair, 2004-11

American Bar Foundation, Lifetime Fellow, 2004-present

Standing Committee on Continuing Legal Education, 2004-06

Standing Committee on Membership, 2002-04; 2011-present

Presidential Appointments Committee, 2002-03; 2010-11

Chair, Young Lawyers Division, 2002-03

Solo, Small Firm & General Practice Division, 2003-present

      Division Council, 2004-07; 2010-present

      Executive Committee, 2010-present

      Division Director, 2006-08

      Chair, Nominating Committee, 2009

      Nominating Committee, 2008-10; 2012-present

      Long Range Planning Committee, 2005-09

      Deputy Chair, Revenue Development Committee, 2008-10

      Chair, Corporate Sponsors Committee, 2005-08

      House of Delegates Committee, 2003-present

      Section of Litigation, 1995-present

      Section of Trial, Tort and Insurance Practice, 1995-present

Thomson West National Solo/Small Firm Advisory Board, 2007-10

Section of Litigation, 1995-present

Section of Trial, Tort and Insurance Practice, 1995-present


Iowa State Bar Association

Bar Delegate to ABA House of Delegates, 2006-present

Administrative Committee, 1998-99; 2012-13

Board of Governors, 1996-99; 2006-present (ex-officio)

Chair, Scope and Correlation Committee, 2012-13

Access to Justice Task Force, 2011-13

Chair, Continuing Legal Education Division, 2005-10

“Raise the Bar” Capital Campaign Steering Committee, 2006-08

ISBA Award of Merit Selection Committee, 2005-06

General Practice, Solo & Small Firm Conference Steering Committee, 2005-06

Legal Profession Division, 2004-05

Professional Development Committee, 2004-05

ABA President/President-Elect Annual Meeting Coordinator/Host, 2003-present

Multi-Jurisdictional Practice Task Force, 2002-04

Multi-Disciplinary Practice Committee, 1999-2002

Iowa State Bar Foundation, Lifetime Fellow, 2000-present

Young Lawyers Division Award of Merit, Recipient, 1999

Young Lawyers Division President, 1998-99

Section of Litigation, 1993-present


Iowa Academy of Trial Lawyers

Fellow, 2010-present


Iowa Association for Justice (f/k/a Iowa Trial Lawyers Association)

President, 2010-11

Vice President of Membership, 2009-10

Vice President of Public Affairs, 2008-09

Officer/Parliamentarian, 2007-08

Executive Committee, 2005-12

Board of Governors, 2005-13

Meritorious Achievement Award, Recipient, 2005

Legislative Committee, 2006-12

Chair, Sponsorship Committee, 2005-11

Continuing Legal Education Committee, 2004-12


American Board of Trial Advocates

Associate, 2013-present


Polk County Bar Association

Member, 1993-present

Membership Committee, 1994-96


Iowa Legal Aid

President, Board of Directors, 2012-present

Executive Committee, 2008-present

Board of Directors, 2007-present

Chair, Personnel, Grievance and Governance Committee, 2010-12

Chair, Development, Finance and Audit Committee, 2008-10

Chair, Development, Finance and Audit Committee, 2007-08

"Equal Justice After Hours" Fundraiser Committee, 2007-12


Iowa Legal Aid

The Bar Register of Pre-eminent Lawyers

National Order of Barristers

ABA Section Officer Conference Outstanding Service Award, Recipient, Awarded to the ABA Young Lawyers Division, 2002-03 (Chair)

American Mock Trial Association, Judges Hall of Fame, Inductee, 1999

Iowa Academy of Trial Lawyers Joint Trial Advocacy College, Graduate, 1995

Chief Justice W.W. Reynoldson Award, Recipient, 1993

Iowa Supreme Court Board of Law Examiners, Bar Examiner

Asst Editor, Iowa Academy of Trial Lawyers Trial Handbook, Cumulative Supplement, 1993

National Champion, Nat'l Intercollegiate Mock Trial Tournament, 1989, 1992

Regional Champion, Drake Law School National Mock Trial Team, 1992

Blackstone Inn of Court, 1992-2000

Drake University, Lewis R. McNurlen Outstanding Sociology Student, 1989

Alpha Kappa Delta International Sociology Honor Society, 1988

Omicron Delta Kappa, 1988

MortorBoard, 1988


The National Trial Lawyers White Logo for Footer
© Copyright 2022, All Rights Reserved | National Trial Lawyers
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram